top of page

Korea UNESCO Sites

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) World Heritage sites are places of importance to cultural or natural heritage as described in the UNESCO World Heritage Convention, established in 1972. The Republic of Korea accepted the convention on 14 September 1988, making its historical sites eligible for inclusion on the list. As of 2018, there are thirteen World Heritage sites in South Korea, including twelve cultural sites and one natural site.

The first three sites of South Korea, Haeinsa Temple Janggyeong Panjeon, the Depositories for the Tripitaka Koreana Woodblocks, Jongmyo Shrine and Seokguram Grotto and Bulguksa Temple, were inscribed on the list at the 19th Session of the World Heritage Committee, held in Berlin, Germany in 1995. In 2007, Jeju Volcanic Island and Lava Tubes became the first site selected for its natural significance. South Korea's latest inscription, Sansa, Buddhist Mountain Monasteries in Korea, was added to the list in 2018.

In addition to its inscribed sites, South Korea also maintains fifteen properties on its tentative list.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page